Friday 14 December
Powered by Ajaxy
Mar 10, 2016 @ 5:30

19 provinces to suffer from drought

Nineteen provinces are expected to experience drought while 13 others will suffer from a dry spell this month, the weather bureau said in its outlook for March.

The Philippine Atmospheric Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) said Palawan, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Zamboanga del Norte and Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay , Bukidnon, Lanao del Norte and Sur, Misamis Occidental, North and South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, Basilan, Maguindanao, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi will experience drought this month.

PAGASA said a drought means three consecutive months with more than 60 percent reduction in average rainfall.

The provinces that will experience a dry spell are Benguet, Pangasinan, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Zambales, Rizal, Occidental Mindoro, Bohol, Camiguin, Misamis Oriental, Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte and Agusan del Sur.

The said areas will have three consecutive months of rainfall that is 21-60 percent less than average.

PAGASA said the El Nino has reached its peaked and is expected to weaken in the coming months, and ending by the end of July.

It said the coming days are expected to be hotter and drier especially in the western section of Mindanao.

If there are showers, PAGASA said, they may be caused by wind convergence or the heat island effect, where the warmer air from the urban areas which have greater human activities rises above the cooler air.

The weather bureau is expected to declare the official onset of the dry season on the third week of the month.


Trending News

Recommended on sister sites

Copyright © 2018 Food Evolution -