Sunday 24 June
Powered by Ajaxy
May 4, 2016 @ 2:09

18 areas still under state of calamity

Eighteen provinces remained under a state of calamity due to the El Niño, which has reportedly ravaged some P6 billion worth of crops so far this year.

These areas, which were also automatically placed under a price freeze for 60 days, were identified as Palawan, Guimaras, Iloilo, Cebu, Bohol, Negros Occidental, Zamboanga del Norte, Bukidnon, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, North Cotabato, General Santos City, South Cotabato, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, Basilan, Maguindanao and Butuan City. Majority of the areas placed under a state of calamity were in Mindanao where the El Niño has been causing food insecurity.

Trade Undersecretary Victorio Mario A. Dimagiba said in a briefing Monday that their latest monitoring activities in these areas showed the prices of basic goods and prime commodities were stable as supply remained sufficient.

Read full Article here »

Trending News

Recommended on sister sites

Copyright © 2018 - Latest News on Celebrities, Politikos and Businessmen that loves food!.