Monday 21 January
Powered by Ajaxy
Oct 25, 2016 @ 6:56

DA allots P800 M a year for 10 poorest provinces

The Department of Agriculture has identified 10 poorest provinces for priority funding under the Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD).

The ten provinces are Apayao, Negros Orietnal, Zamboanga del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Cotabato, Sarangani, Maguindanao, Eastern Samar, Western Samar and Northern Samar.

The 10 identified priority provinces per year will receive livelihood programs and other related support from the DA, amounting to at least P80 million. This is part of the P800 million a year budget allocation to fund programs for Filipino farmers in the poorest provinces.

Agriculture Assistance Secretary Lerey A. Panes was quoted by Business Mirror said this budget is in line with the Duterte administration’s thrust to lift the farmers from poverty.

“At the end of President Duterte’s terms, you should be proud that you are a farmer and you’re earning more than enough,” Panes said.


Trending News

Recommended on sister sites

Copyright © 2019 Food Evolution -