Monday 22 October
Powered by Ajaxy
Oct 9, 2018 @ 16:24

DA bans entry of pork from six more countries

The Department of Agriculture (DA) has temporarily stopped the importation of pork from six more countries to prevent the possible entry of African Swine Fever (ASF) into the Philippines’ swine population.

In his latest memorandum order, Agriculture Secretary Emmanuel Piñol has imposed a temporary ban on the importation of domestic and wild pigs and their products including pork meat and semen originating from Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Moldova, South Africa, and Zambia.

This was after the World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) confirmed that there has been outbreaks of ASF in these countries.

“There is a need to prevent the entry of ASF virus to protect th health of the local swine population,” Piñol said.


Trending News

Recommended on sister sites

Copyright © 2018 - Latest News on Celebrities, Politikos and Businessmen that loves food!.